Various (Feldman) Casals Legacy, The

Cello Solo Collections - Solo w/Piano

  • Various (Feldman)

    Casals Legacy, The (Feldman)

    This collection is dedicated to the legacy of Pablo Casals. It comprises ten pieces that he often performed throughout his extensive career. His great love of Bach is reflected by his arrangements of the Adagio from the Toccata in C Major for organ, and the Chorale Prelude from Jesu, meine Freude. The great Catalan-Spanish tradition from which he came speaks out in the Intermezzo from Granados' opera Goyescas and Casals' own Cant dell Ocells (Song of the Birds). Two other pieces in this collection, Mazurka in G minor and Vito, were composed by David Popper, who is remembered today as the leader of the Hungarian school of cello playing. Casals often played many of these virtuoso pieces for the cello as encores on his programs. The ten pieces in thiscollection contain updated fingerings and bowings, and the book also features rarely-seen photos of Casals himself. For intermediate to advanced players. Contents:

    •  BACH: Adagio from Toccata in C Major for Organ
    •  BACH: Jesu, meine Freude (Jesus, My Joy)
    •  BLOCH: Prayer from From Jewish Life, No. 1
    •  CASALS: Cant del Ocells (Song of the Birds)
    •  FAURE: Apres un reve
    •  GRANADOS: Intermezzo from the Opera Goyescas
    •  HANDEL: Largo from Xerxes
    •  POPPER: Mazurka in Gm, Op. 11, No. 3
    •  POPPER: Vito (Spanish Dance, Op. 54. No. 5)
    •  RACHMANINOFF: Romance (In the Silence of the Night), Op. 4, No. 3

    • Category: Cello Solo Collections - Solo w/Piano
    • Item: 083147
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $26.99

    • (usually ships in 6 to 9 days)