York, Barbara Concerto

Tuba Solos w/Piano

  • York, Barbara


    21st Century. Piano reduction. For a complete performence set, see item 70263. This Tuba Concerto was commissioned in 2004 by tubist, Michael Fischer, and the Boise State University Symphony Orchestra. It was my fourth piece for Dr. Fischer, and is subtitled "Wars and Rumors of War". Since I do tend to write "concept pieces", there is some programmatic content that proceeds through the development of its underlying musical and emotional structure. Contrary to what its subtitle might suggest, this is not intended to be a political statement about war, but is rather intended to be a philosophical and even rather intimate examination of the personal effect that this type of activity has on those who participate in it. - the publisher

    #female composer

    (sample pages)

    • Category: Tuba Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 064069
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $25.00

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)