Marcello, Alessandro (Terrett) Concerto in Dm

Brass Quintets

  • Marcello, Alessandro (Terrett)

    Concerto in Dm (Terrett) [211.01]

    Baroque. The Concerto in D minor by Alessandro Marcello (brother of Benedetto) is an early 18th-century work originally for oboe, strings, and continuo. The earliest surviving manuscript is actually a keyboard arrangement by J.S. Bach, BWV 974 from around 1715. The work was first published under the composer's name in 1717 in Amsterdam as a Concerto a Cinque (concerto in five parts).

    Keith Terrett has skillfully arranged this gorgeous 8-minute work of three movements (Fast-Slow-Fast) for brass quintet featuring the 1st Trumpet as the soloist (for Trumpet in D). He has also added some embellishments in the Baroque style. This arrangement is scored for trumpet in D, trumpet in C, horn, trombone, and tuba.

    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 134731
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $29.45

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)