Oberheu Lauranod Trilogy

Brass Quintets

  • Oberheu

    Lauranod Trilogy [211.01]

    20th Century. "Lauranod Trilogy" is a collection of tunes written for various ensembles while I was living in Lausanne Switzerland. The name "Lauranod" is actually a permutation of the name "Lausanne" in that it is the word that my cell phone would always try to autospell for me while text messaging. Includes:
    • "PCO Fanfare" was originally written for a mixed low brass ensemble and premiered in the foyer of the conservatory building. Originally conceived as kind of a joke of sorts, the opening fanfare figure contains a mini-quote from the traditional Irishsong "The Rattlin' Bog." The piece quickly assumed a life of its own and wandered in its own direction.
    • "Chorale & Fugue" began its life as a simple exercise in writing a four-part fugue. The beginning chorale section was added later. After its first inception as a four-part piece, it was expanded to a brass octet and then reduced to the brass quintetversion here.
    • "Rue du Midi" was originally written for Ensemble STUBA (Swiss Tuba Und Baritone Association) in 2001 and received its premiere in Ermatingen, Switzerland. A raucous piece with lots of energy, it is named after the street next to the conservatory where a few favorite hangouts were located.
    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 092785
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $29.95

    • (usually ships in 6 to 9 days)