Forbes, Michael Miniatures (4)

Brass Quintets

  • Forbes, Michael

    Miniatures (4) [211.01]

    21st Century (2003), The first movement, Salutations, was originally written as a concert opener for the U.S. Army Brass Quintet and is loosely based on taps. The remaining movements were then composed from material presented in this opening miniature. The Toccata was admirably inspired by the second movement of Four Sketches (1989), the magnificent brass quintet by Anthony Plog (Editions Bim). This movement employs the use of mutes and multiple tonguing to showcase the technical virtuosity of the brasses. The Lament is a meditative soundscape for the quintet and features the more conical, warm sound that a quintet can create. The use of flugelhorns darken the texture, while the horn is the predominant solo voice. The last movement, Jubilation, recapitulates all of the thematic material from the previous miniatures, while giving an exclamation point to the work as a whole. Score & parts. -Michael Forbes

    (score sample pages)

    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 059307
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $42.40

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)