Handel, Georg Frederic (Cherry) Trumpet Shall Sound, The

Brass Quintets

  • Handel, Georg Frederic (Cherry)

    Trumpet Shall Sound, The (Cherry) [211.01]

    Baroque. Original key of D major. One of the most famous movements from "The Messiah" features the piccolo trumpet and tuba, trombone, euphonium or high tuba on the solo parts. The bass part goes up to a high "E" above the staff several times, so the tuba must have a good high register or own a euphonium. The trombone and tuba solo parts can be switched and the trombonist from the quintet can play the solo bass part on tenor trombone, bass trombone or euphonium. The tuba can then move to the trombonepart, which is a low part anyway. This transcription is in the original key of in D. Appropriate for a Christmas or Easter concert.

    (score sample 1)
    (score sample 2)

    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 053777
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $15.00

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)