Zbinden, Julien-Francois Narbonne Festival

Brass Quintets

  • Zbinden, Julien-Francois

    Narbonne Festival [211.01]

    20th Century (1991). The work consists of five movements of which the first, Intrada, makes use of rhythmic play interspersed with a short expressive Andante. The second, Fantasia, consists of cadenzas for each instrument which finally unites in a brief and peaceful coda. This is followed by a quick and virtuosic Scherzo, after which comes an Aria which is both simple and romantic. The work climaxes with Mozartiana, a joyous Allegro, which, as the title indicates, was inspired by the famous Sonata facile for piano (KV 545) by the ingenious Salzburg composer. Fragments of the theme of the first movement play against each other in counterpoint. ®Narbonne FestivalŻ is dedicated to Gabi and Jean-Pierre Mathez as a token of my esteem for them and for our friendship. The premiere of the work was May 1992 in Narbonne on the occasion of the International Brass Quintet Competition. -Julien-Fran‡ois Zbinden
    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 033350
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $38.90
    • (usually ships in 10 to 14 days)