MacMillan, James (Gibson) Concerto

Trombone Solos w/Piano

  • MacMillan, James (Gibson)

    Concerto (Gibson)

    21st Century (2017). A major addition to the concertante trombone repertory, this single-movement work lasting 30 minutes was premiered in 2017 by Jorgen van Rijen and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, conducted by Ivan Fischer. Press reviews were ecstatic: "...this magnificent concerto enriches the repertoire...The trombone sang, sang, sang...then suddenly a spectacular mating dance of four trombones … la Stockhausen. At the very end van Rijen and MacMillan struck me down completely: between the serene harmonies which came to a moment of rest, the trombone once more entered with a heart-breaking eruption...the wonderful beauty of despair...It is a concerto for eternity, and trombone players could use one." - De Trouw.

    (solo part sample pages)

    • Category: Trombone Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 125800
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $53.00

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)