Holst, Gustav (Sauer) Neptune, from The Planets

14-Part Brass Choirs w/Percussion

  • Holst, Gustav (Sauer)

    Neptune, from The Planets (Sauer) [443.12 w/percussion]

    20th Century. Holst's seven movement suite The Planets was written between 1914-16 and its first version was scored for two pianos except for the Neptune movement, which was written for organ alone. The music is the first ever composed with a "fade-away"ending using a womens' chorus. Later, Holst completed his orchestration of the 7-movement Suite, which has become one of the most popular works in the repertoire.

    Mr. Sauer has scored this movement of about nine minutes in length for 14-part brass ensemble with timpani and glockenspiel. This concludes his arranging of the complete suite for large brass ensemble. Instrumentation is 4 C trumpets, 4 horns, 3 trombones, euphonium, 2 tubas, timpani and glockenspiel. This music is appropriate for advanced performers. -the publisher

    • Category: 14-Part Brass Choirs w/Percussion
    • Item: 114771
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $31.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)