Brown/DeCosta/Wadsworth Performance Practices in Brahms' Chamber Music

Violin Textbooks

  • Brown/DeCosta/Wadsworth

    Performance Practices in Brahms' Chamber Music

    B„renreiter's pioneering scholarly-critical editions of Brahms' works for one instrument and piano (BA 9429, BA 9430, BA 9431, BA 9432, BA 9433, BA 10911, BA 10908, BA 10907, BA 10906) are edited by a team of musicologists who are also performers. They offer today's musicians not just a reliable musical text based on all known sources, but also a comprehensive approach to the works, which aims to place them in their historical context and to elucidate the complex of meanings that the composer wished his notation to convey to performers.

    An integral part of B„renreiter's Brahms publication complex is this text booklet which approaches general performance practice issues of the 19th century with regard to e.g. tempo, rubato, rhythmic flexibility and articulation. Furthermore musicians will find valuable information concerning vibrato, portamento and bowing. Last but not least characteristics of Brahms' own piano playing as well as that of his circle and contemporaries are discussed. -the publisher

    • Composer / Author: Brown, Clive - General Issues of Performing Practice
    • Composer / Author: Brown, Clive - String Performing Practice
    • Composer / Author: Da Costa, Neal Peres - Performing Practice in Piano Playing
    • Composer / Author: Wadsworth, Kate Bennett - Brahms and the Cello
    • Composer / Author: Brown, Clive - Epilogue
    • Category: Violin Textbooks
    • Item: 106338
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $24.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)