Brahms, Johannes (Kirsch) String Quintet No 1 in F, op 88

String Quintets

  • Brahms, Johannes (Kirsch)

    String Quintet No 1 in F, op 88 (Kirsch) [2210]

    Romantic. "Harmony, bliss, music of Raphaelesque beauty! and yet in its simplicity, how wonderfully artistically everything is done." This is how Theodor Billroth enthused about the first String Quintet op. 88 by his friend Johannes Brahms. No wonder that it soon won the hearts of audiences and musicians alike. This chamber music work was written in spring 1882 as usual put to the test in various preview performances and revised until the autumn. Here, Brahms placed himself fully in the tradition of the Mozart quintets, also choosing the same scoring with two violins, two violas and a cello. With an edition of the performing parts and a matching study score based on the text of the Brahms Complete Edition, G. Henle Verlag is now the first to publishan Urtext edition of this jewel of the quintet repertoire.
    • Category: String Quintets
    • Item: 134367
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $44.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)