Ives, Charles String Quartet No 1

String Quartets

  • Ives, Charles

    String Quartet No 1 [Ives Society Critical Edition]

    Ives began his String Quartet No. 1 while in college at Yale and finished it by 1902. It is in a late-romantic tonal style influenced by Brahms and Dvor k, but it uses themes paraphrased from the hymn tunes he sang in church and played as an organist ("From Greenland's Icy Mountains", "Beulah Land" and "Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing" among them). By infusing the sound and character of American hymnody into the romantic European string quartet, Ives united two of the musical traditions he loved and claimed a place among the nationalist composers of his day.
    • Category: String Quartets
    • Item: 132657
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $49.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)