Franck, Eduard (Oehler) Sonatas (6), op 40

Piano Composer Folios

  • Franck, Eduard (Oehler)

    Sonatas (6), op 40 (Oehler)

    These Six Piano Sonatas op. 40 comprise the first great sonata cycle by Eduard Franck. Composed in a longer period before 1882, the sonatas immediately found a great, in part brilliant reception after publication.

    So, for instance, the Neue Zeitschrift fr Musik opined on 11 May 1883: "Since Beethoven probably few top-ranking composers have brought into being such creations as Eduard Franck. [_] Several of them deserved to be performed symphonically, because prevalent in them are dramatic elements [_]." Eduard Franck's piano sonatas are perceived in our time as a modest continuation of the classical and romantic piano sonata in line with a recognized and proven model. With op. 40 now appearing, Breitkopf & H„rtel begins its edition of Eduard Franck's piano works, thus completing the picture of the romantic piano sonata in the second half of the 19th century. -the publisher

    • Category: Piano Composer Folios
    • Item: 120396
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $53.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)