Debussy, Claude (Heinemann) Children's Corner

Piano Composer Folios

  • Debussy, Claude (Heinemann)

    Children's Corner (Heinemann)

    This "Little Suite" was published in 1908 and was dedicated to the composer's then three-year old daughter: "To my beloved little Chouchou with the tender excuses of her father for what follows below." The first movement, Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum, alludes to a study by Muzio Clementi. The titles of nos. 2 to 6 can be traced back to Debussy's love of everything English. Although the music addresses childish fantasy, at the least a talented amateur is required to perform it. The well-known number 6,Golliwogg's Cakewalk, is in ragtime style and shows Debussy's easy-going approach to popular trends in music. Children's Corner was immediately extremely successful and has been arranged for various groups of instruments. -the publisher

    •  Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum
    •  Golliwog's Cakewalk (Debussy)
    •  Jimbo's Lullaby
    •  Serenade for the Doll
    •  The Little Shepherd
    •  The Snow is Dancing

    (thematic index)

    • Category: Piano Composer Folios
    • Item: 013886
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $13.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)