Dvorak, Antonin Piano Quintet in A, op 5

Piano Quintets

  • Dvorak, Antonin

    Piano Quintet in A, op 5

    Romantic. For piano quintet (piano and string quartet of 2 violins, viola, cello). In 1887 Antonˇn Dvorak revised several of the works he had composed in the 1860s and 1870s, most of which he then published for the first time. In this context he asked the music critic Ludevit Prochazka to return a manuscript copy of the Piano Quintet in A major op. 5 (B.28), composed 15 years earlier. But after thoroughly revising the work he declined to publish it; instead, he wrote a new piano quintet in the same key - the famous opus 81. And so, the manuscript copy he requested from Prochazka remains the sole source for this early piece of chamber music.

    Dvorak's first Piano Quintet in A major was never published during his lifetime. This edition presents the musical text from the "Complete Edition of the Works of Antonˇn Dvorak", Volume IV/11. Now with a new detailed Foreword (Eng/Cz/Ger) by David R. Beveridge -the publisher

    • Category: Piano Quintets
    • Item: 115517
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $34.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)