Haydn, Franz Joseph (Friesenhagen) Symphony in G, Hob.I:88

Orchestra Study Scores

  • Haydn, Franz Joseph (Friesenhagen)

    Symphony in G, Hob.I:88 (Friesenhagen) [study score]

    Haydn probably composed his Symphony no. 88 in G major in 1787, just one year after the six so-called Paris symphonies. It was written, together with its sister work, the F-major Symphony no. 89, for the violinist Johann Tost, who sold it to the Parisianpublisher Sieber. In both works, Haydn continues the compositional achievements of the Paris symphonies: mastery of orchestration, richness of musical ideas and details, and an idiosyncratic, multicoloured use of the wind section (which still makes do without clarinets). The G-major symphony is characterised by its cheerful, almost cheeky inflection - the theme of the rondo finale in particular possesses the strong qualities of an earworm. This study edition reproduces the musical text of the Haydn Complete Edition, which is a guarantor of the finest scholarship. An informative preface and a brief critical report make this handy score anideal companion for all Haydn fans, both present and future. -the publisher
    • Category: Orchestra Study Scores
    • Item: 127101
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $16.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)