Grieg, Edvard (Clarke) Holberg Suite, op 40

Orchestra Full Scores

  • Grieg, Edvard (Clarke)

    Holberg Suite, op 40 (Clarke) [string orchestra]

    In 1884 the Norwegian city of Bergen celebrated the 200th birthday of Ludvig Holberg, one of its most famous sons and a symbolic figure of the late Baroque era. For this occasion Grieg wrote the piano suite Aus Holbergs Zeit, which he orchestrated for string orchestra. To this day, the Suite - particularly in this arrangement - ranks among Grieg's most popular works. By using the romantic string sound, Grieg brings the late Baroque orchestral suite and its various dance forms to life again. Along with the string serenades of Dvorak and Tchaikovsky, Aus Holbergs Zeit is regarded as the third great late-romantic work for string orchestra. Breitkopf is currently preparing the release of new and complete performance material in the framework ofits cooperation with Eulenburg. -the publisher
    • Category: Orchestra Full Scores
    • Item: 114726
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $25.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)