Rachmaninoff, Sergei Bells, The

Orchestra Full Scores

  • Rachmaninoff, Sergei

    Bells, The

    Dover reprint of a 1920 A. Gutheil (Moscow) edition. This great choral symphony by the last of Russia's Romantic composers was written in 1913 and is reputed to be among Rachmaninoff's favorites of all his works. Scored for a large orchestra, solo vocalists, and chorus, the work is loosely based on the brilliant poem by Edgar Allan Poe. Its addition of material from the Russian translation permits the composer to develop the themes in a more intense, dark idiom. Indeed, The Bells exhibits an emotional intensity unsurpassed in Rachmaninoff's later works. Its long, brooding finale contrasts with the liveliness of the preceding movements, and the orchestration reflects the poem's striking symbolism: silver bells for birth, golden bells for marriage, brass bells for fear, and iron bells for death. 117 pages. Full score only - parts not included.
    • Category: Orchestra Full Scores
    • Item: 059050
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $14.95

    • (usually ships in 6 to 9 days)