Schuetz, Heinrich (Biggs) Sacred Pieces (2)

Trombone Octets

  • Schuetz, Heinrich (Biggs)

    Sacred Pieces (2) (Biggs)

    Heinrich Schutz (1585-1672) wrote the Musikalische Exequien, opus 7 (SWV 279-281) for the funeral of Prince Heinrich Posthumus von Reuss (1572-1635). Prince Heinrich's widow and sons commissioned the work upon his death and provided Schutz with Bible verses as the text, which were also inscribed on the prince's coffin.

    Two of the three parts of the Musikalische Exequien have been arranged for trombone octet in two different choirs. The first piece, Motet is reminiscent of Gabrieli's Sonatas. The second piece, Canticum Sineonis is dense, rich, and evokes deep spiritual suffering and loss. AA-TTTT-BB

    • Category: Trombone Octets
    • Item: 133902
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $37.45

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)