Nyman, Michael Where the Bee Dances

Soprano Sax Solos w/Piano

  • Nyman, Michael

    Where the Bee Dances

    21st Century (1991/2019). This saxophone concerto, written in one continuous movement with a wide variety of tempi, celebrates the talents of John Harle, who has been a central player in the Michael Nyman Band for over ten years. The title has a double reference: on the one hand to the circular orientation dances which a foraging bee performs to communicate the location of food source, and on the other hand to my setting of 'Where the bee sucks', composed for Peter Greenaway's film Prospero's Books andquoted sporadically during the concerto. However, most of the material is derived from a 4-chord sequence that John once overheard me playing and which he expressed a particular liking for. -Michael Nyman
    • Category: Soprano Sax Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 132963
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $24.99

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)