Vallet, Nicholas (Mascott) Le Secret des Muses

Guitar Composer Collections - Unaccompanied

  • Vallet, Nicholas (Mascott)

    Le Secret des Muses (Mascott)

    Transcribed for Cclassical guitar. This book of 53 intermediate-level guitar pieces is derived from Le Secret des Muses, a two-volume collection of lute tablature by Nicolas Vallet (c. 1583 - c. 1642). Born in France, by 1614 Vallet had relocated to Amsterdam where he established a dance school and was active as a composer, lute teacher and leader of a consort that played at weddings and festivals.

    Le Secret des Muses is among the last published collections of French lute tablature intended for the 10-course Renaissance lute, which was ultimately supplanted by the larger 13-course Baroque model. Most of these pieces consist of traditional European dance forms, but also contains a few settings of popular lute themes and longer works suitable for concert performance are included.

    Written in standard notation only with occasional drop-D tuning, these pieces make excellent sight-reading and warmup material as well as historically significant concert selections. -the publisher

    • Category: Guitar Composer Collections - Unaccompanied
    • Item: 132737
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $17.99

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)