Asafiev, Boris Sonata

Trumpet Solos w/Piano

  • Asafiev, Boris


    20th Century (1939). Russian composer. Sonata in four movements entitled: "In Modo Classico", "Adagio", "Scherzo" and "Finale: Sarabande". Range is low G below the staff to high C above, but most of the writing is on the staff. Tempos are marked rather conservatively and eliminate the need for multiple tonguing. First movement is harmonically and rhythmically straight forward until the development section which increases in complexity. Adagio movement contains interesting changes of speed and style (piu andante, agitato, maestoso, tranquillo etc.) and is a good study in phrasing with shifting slurs throughout longer phrases. Scherzo is charming and light in 2/4. As with the second movement, the Finale shifts in speed and style and feels somewhat more free due to the rhythmic changes. Climax is reached via a more powerful style at a moderate tempo.

    (solo part sample pages)

    • Category: Trumpet Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 035576
    • Grade/Level: Grade 6 - Advanced
    • Price: $23.75

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)