Debussy, Claude Images, Series 2

Piano Composer Folios

  • Debussy, Claude

    Images, Series 2

    G. Henle URTEXT edition. The cycle with three movements, composed at the end of 1907 and published at the beginning of the next year, contains a singular innovation: Debussy notated the highly differentiated piano part that goes into the extreme registers on three staves. The first movement (Cloches … travers les feuilles) is reminiscent of a deathknell, the second (Et la lune descend sur le temple qui fut) conjures up far-off India or also China; and as for the third movement (Poissons d'or) Debussy was inspired by an enamel painting of goldfish in his study. The dedicatee of the third movement, Ricardo Vi¤es, gave the first performance of the cycle.

    •  Cloches a travers les feuilles
    •  Et la lune descend sur le temple qui fut
    •  Poissons d'or

    • Category: Piano Composer Folios
    • Item: 003647
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $18.95

    • (usually ships in 6 to 9 days)