Ewald, Victor (Miller) Quintet No 1 in Bbm, op 5

Brass Quintets

  • Ewald, Victor (Miller)

    Quintet No 1 in Bbm, op 5 (Miller) [211.01]

    Romantic (ca 1890). Russian born Victor Ewald (1860-1935) was not a musician by trade but instead was an engineer who had music as his advocation. An amateur cellist and hornist, he wrote several brass quintets for the conical brasses common in his day. One presumes he took part in their performance as well. This edition of this popular work has been edited by Donald Miller from the original version (2 cornets, altohorn, tenorhorn, and tuba) for the modern brass quintet of 2 Bb trumpets, F horn, trombone and tuba. This work is the earliest known piece of concert music specifically written for brass quintet. Set in three movements (Moderato; Adagio non troppo lento; Allegro moderato) the Quintet is a staple in the literature, requiring strong individual and ensemble performance skills. Score & parts. -cdp

    (score sample pages & trumpet 1 part)
    (synthesized computer "performance")

    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 011863
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $20.00

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)