Wilborn, David Reflection & Celebration

Trombone Octets

  • Wilborn, David

    Reflection & Celebration

    21st Century (2019). Reflection and Celebration for 8-part trombone ensemble is a musical homage to a man who was revered for his mentorship, musical intellect and delightful humor. The work opens with a somber melodic solo, capturing the noble spirit ofthis great mentor. Several repetitive 5-note ascending motives follow which is a symbolic reference to students learning and accomplishing under Conklin's mentorship. The bold fanfare style (in measure 32) is presented to capture the presence and tall stature of Conklin. Finally, Conklin's down-to-earth personality and his infectious humor is referenced (in measure 83). Even the fanfare theme returns in a faster tempo, thus highlighting the frivolity, lightheartedness, and wisdom of this adored music teacher. -the composer

    The music is about 6 1/2 minutes in length and is appropriate for moderately advanced performers.

    #black composer

    • Category: Trombone Octets
    • Item: 127130
    • Grade/Level: Grade 5 - Early Advanced
    • Price: $38.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)