Maslanka, David Quintet No 2 (1987)

Woodwind Quintets

  • Maslanka, David

    Quintet No 2 (1987) [1111-1]

    Written in 1986 for the Manhattan Wind Quintet, this dynamic piece in three movements encompasses several moods that range from aggressiveness to placidity and etherealness. A technically demanding piece, the first movement is filled with exciting shortphrases that come together in a fugual section. The second movement is both peaceful and emotional, with a profound sense of mystery. Finally, the third movement, a chaconne, features a continuous set of variations over a brief repeated harmonic pattern. The movement ends with a chorale-like coda that summarizes the entire piece. Score & parts. Clarinet in Bb. -the publisher

    For standard 1111-1 wind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon & horn. Score & parts. -the publisher

    • Category: Woodwind Quintets
    • Item: 055538
    • Grade/Level: Grade 7 - Virtuosic
    • Price: $64.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)