Makris Sextet

Woodwind Quintets w/Piano

  • Makris

    Sextet [1111-1 w/piano, opt perc]

    20th Century. Three movement piece with the two outer movements based on Greek dances. The first movement contains odd-meter rhythms and a short humorous, aleatoric section in which several of the players "tune up" to concert A's. The contrasting second movement ("Modern Chapel"), begins with a four-part chorale in the piano, followed by a flute solo. The final movement includes snare and bass drum playing a repetitive, driving 7/16 rhythm along with some technically challenging phrases for the wind instruments. Score & parts. Clarinet in Bb. -AP
    • Category: Woodwind Quintets w/Piano
    • Item: 041024
    • Grade/Level: Grade 7 - Virtuosic
    • Price: $56.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)