Husa, Karel Poems (5)

Woodwind Quintets

  • Husa, Karel

    Poems (5) [1111-1]

    20th Century. "The Five Poems for wind quintet - the third preceded by a short Interlude - express my admiration for birds... They are only imaginary poems; there are no words, as the poems have not been written. Musically I have tried to explore somenew possibilities of techniques and sound combinations while at the same time bringing out the virtuosity of present-day woodwind performers." -the Composer. Includes quarter-tones, note bending, large interval jumps, trills on the same note and an unmeasured section in the fourth movement. Movements include: Walking Birds; Happy Bird; Interlude: Lamenting bird...; ...With a Dead Bird; Fighting Birds; Bird Flying High Above. Score included. -AP

    (score sample page)

    • Category: Woodwind Quintets
    • Item: 033964
    • Grade/Level: Grade 7 - Virtuosic
    • Price: $30.00

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)