Bach, Johann Sebastian (Marcellus) Capriccio, BWV.992

Trombone Sextets

  • Bach, Johann Sebastian (Marcellus)

    Capriccio, BWV.992 (Marcellus)

    Baroque. Capriccio in B-flat, BWV 992 is an early keyboard work, first performed at age 19 when his brother Johann Jacob travelled to become an oboist in the army of Charles XII of Sweden. The 12-minute work is appropriate for advanced performers. Dr. Marcellus has dedicated his arrangement to the memory of the late Steve Witser, his former student and colleague who was principal trombonist with the Los Angeles Philharmonic. In his arrangement Marcellus has split the music into a two 3-part trombone choirs each with two tenor trombones and a bass trombone. -the publisher

    The work is separated into six sections titled:

    •  Arioso: Adagio - His friends try to persuade him not to undertake the journey
    •  Andante - His friends tell him of the various misfortunes that may befall him abroad
    •  Adagiosissimo - The general lament of his friends
    •  Andante con moto- His friends come, since they see that it must be, and take leave of him
    •  Posthorn Aria
    •  Fugue in Imitation of the Posthorn.

    (score sample pages)

    • Category: Trombone Sextets
    • Item: 106351
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $29.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)