Pachelbel, Johann (LaFratta) Ciacona - Theme with 22 Variations

Tuba-Euphonium Quartets

  • Pachelbel, Johann (LaFratta)

    Ciacona - Theme with 22 Variations (LaFratta) [EETT]

    Baroque. Ciacona (original key of F minor for organ) has been arranged for tuba/euphonium quartet in G minor by Mark LaFratta. It is likely Pachelbel's second most famous work, after the Canon in D. As is typical for a Ciacona (Chaconne), there is a short simple tune in triple meter over a repeating bass ostinato that provides a vehicle for variation, ornamentation, and melodic invention and is somewhat similar to a passacaglia. There is a passage or two that even have hints of Bach's great Passacaglia, which didn't appear until many years in the future. Pachelbel's Ciacona states an opening theme followed by 22 variations, the last of which is an almost exact repeat of the opening theme. This 8-minute arrangement is appropriate for advanced performers and is scored for 2 euphoniums (bass clef) and 2 tubas. -the publisher

    • Category: Tuba-Euphonium Quartets
    • Item: 132208
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $26.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)