Daugherty, Michael Refections on the Mississippi - full score

Tuba Solos w/Concert Band

  • Daugherty, Michael

    Refections on the Mississippi - full score

    SCORE ONLY. Parts are available on rental from the publisher directly.

    Reflections on the Mississippi (2015) for tuba and symphonic band was commissioned and premiered by the University of Michigan Symphony Band, conducted by Michael Haithcock, with Carol Jantsch, tuba (Philadelphia Orchestra), at the University of MichiganHill Auditorium in Ann Arbor on February 6, 05. The concerto, composed in memory of his father, Willis Daugherty (1929-0), is a musical reflection on family trips during Michael's childhood to the Mississippi River near McGregor, Iowa. In July and October 0, Daugherty returned to the Mississippi River to make two road trips along the "Great River Road" from McGregor to Hannibal, Missouri to collect musical ideas. The result is one of the composer's most poignant and powerful musical works to date.In this 22-minute tuba concerto, Daugherty has created a unique sound world that brilliantly captures and reflects the "sound and the fury" of the Mississippi River. The tuba soloist plays soulful melodies, jarring rhythms, prayerful chants and a New Orleans "second line" that propels the concerto to a virtuosic conclusion.

    (score sample pages)

    Recorded by:
    Θ - Justin Benavidez, on Emblems (w/piano) - CD 123300

    • Category: Tuba Solos w/Concert Band
    • Item: 109971
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $65.00

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)