Stevens, John Sonata (2007)

Trumpet Solos w/Piano

  • Stevens, John

    Sonata (2007) [trumpet in C]

    21st Century (2007). This three-movement piece is intended to showcase the many virtuosic aspects of the instrument in a work of substantial proportions. The lyrical capabilities of the trumpet are paramount. As such, I strongly encourage trumpeters to perform the second movement on flugelhorn (I had that instrument in mind) which also provides color and texture contrast between the more flamboyant outer movements. John Stevens, Madison, WI USA Premiere: March, 2008 by John Aley, trumpet, and Martha Fischer, piano, in recital at the 15th annual National Trumpet Competition at George Mason University, Fairfax, VA (USA).

    (solo sample pages)

    • Category: Trumpet Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 075764
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $34.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)