Nyman, Michael Flugelhorn and Piano

Trumpet Solos w/Piano

  • Nyman, Michael

    Flugelhorn and Piano

    20the century. This work was commissioned in 1991 by Graham Ashton for his album "The Contemporary Trumpet". It is the second in a series of multi-sectional works for solo instruments and piano which Nyman began in 1990 with "Shaping the Curve" (for soprano saxophone) and continued with "Viola and Piano". Challenging work in terms of finger dexterity, rhythmic and harmonic understanding required. Piece begins molto cantabile and showcases the dark timbre of the flugelhorn. Technical passages are primarily slurred and often utilize extended "waves" of rushing thirty-second notes. Duration: 10:00 minutes.

    (solo sample pages)

    • Category: Trumpet Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 029301
    • Grade/Level: Grade 6 - Advanced
    • Price: $27.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)