Michel, Jean-Francois Emeraude

Trombone Quartets

  • Michel, Jean-Francois


    21st Century (2013). In 2008, trombone virtuoso Branimir Slokar asked Jean-Fran‡ois Michel to write a piece to open the concerts of his trombone quartet. Five years later, for the 40th anniversary of his well known ensemble (1973-2013), Slokar renewed his request, but this time asked for a piece for the conclusion of concerts.
    The present composition, Emeraude, takes its title from the French word for emerald, the precious green diaphanous stone, the symbol for both the 40th anniversary celebrations of the quartet and the long friendship and mutual admiration shared by these two artists.
    The first part includes a succession of heroic motifs, introducing each performer one by one in succession as they proceed from backstage to onstage. Once they have all arrived in their normal stage positions, what follows is a spectacular Allegro vivo with subtle dissonances which enhance the virtuosity and precise ensemble playing of the 4 trombonists. It ends with a bacchanal apotheosis, which serves as a final "adieu" to the audience. -the publisher
    • Category: Trombone Quartets
    • Item: 099749
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $22.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)