Various (Elkjer) Christmas Carols, v.2

Trombone Quartets

  • Various (Elkjer)

    Christmas Carols, v.2 (Elkjer)

    Includes 9 carols: O Come All Ye Faithful; What Child Is This?; God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen; The Holly and the Ivy; Jingle Bells; O Little Town of Bethlehem; Up On the Housetop; Good King Wenceslas; We Wish You a Merry Christmas. "These arrangements are not your run-of-the-mill SATB arrangements. They are written for trombones (not transcribed from some other instrumentation), and each arrangement has a fresh, unusual quality that catches the listener's ear. These are not "one-time-through" quickie arrangements either. They all have a second chorus, most of which modulate and use new harmonies and rhythms. Technically the arrangements are not that difficult, but they do contain a handful of high notes in the first part. The highest written note inVolume II is a Eb, but an ossia low Eb part is included. There are a handful of Cs and Dbs (forte, stepwise approach), but the vast majority stays below Bb5. Jazz harmonies and rhythms are sometimes explored, while always maintaining the essential Christmas spirit of the music. Certainly within the grasp of any well rehearsed college ensemble. (Score & parts)." -the arranger

    (score sample pages)

    • Category: Trombone Quartets
    • Item: 088786
    • Grade/Level: Grade 5 - Early Advanced
    • Price: $36.00

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)