Coleridge-Taylor, Samuel (Decker) Sea Drift

Trombone Octets

  • Coleridge-Taylor, Samuel (Decker)

    Sea Drift (Decker)

    20th Century. This trombone ensemble arrangement captures the subtle textures of the composer's chromatic harmonies inspired in the original vocal octet by a poem by T. B. Aldrich. Coleridge-Taylor was an early 20th century English composer and conductorwho was an influential advocate for black composers. One of Coleridge-Taylor's rare a cappella compositions for vocal SATB double choir here arranged for 8-part trombone ensemble, Sea Drift is infused with descriptive tone-color painting highlighting the tragic story of the merchant sailor who perishes in a stormy sea to the despair of his lover onshore. The trombone choir has alternate parts for alto trombone and contrabass trombone. - the publisher

    #black composer

    • Category: Trombone Octets
    • Item: 136289
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $31.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)