Bach, Johann Sebastian (Sauer) Fantasia & Fugue in Cm, BWV.537

Trombone Octets

  • Bach, Johann Sebastian (Sauer)

    Fantasia & Fugue in Cm, BWV.537 (Sauer)

    Baroque. Bach's Fantasia & Fugue in C minor, BWV 537 is a work for Organ written around the year 1723 while the composer was in residence in Weimar. Bach composed many of his greatest organ works during this period. The music of the Fantasia is lush and ornate. The Fugue is 130 bars in length. This work was transcribed for orchestra in 1921 by Edward Elgar who mourned after the death of his wife. He was to orchestrate the Fugue and Richard Strauss agreed to do the Fantasia, however after two years Elgarcompleted the entire work as Strauss never held up his part of the bargain. Mr. Sauer has subtly added phrasings, breaths and articulations to the original score to aid in the performance for trombone choir.The music is about eight minutes in length and is appropriate for advanced performers. -the publisher

    • Category: Trombone Octets
    • Item: 109356
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $39.45

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)