Gliere, Reinhold (Cherry) Concerto, op 82

Alto Trombone Solos w/Piano

  • Gliere, Reinhold (Cherry)

    Concerto, op 82 (Cherry)

    20th Century. Reinhold Gliere's Concerto for Coloratura Soprano and Orchestra, Op. 82 was written in 1942-1943 and shows off the composer's gentle melodic musical style reminiscent of Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov and even Wagner. The choice of a vocal soloist singing without words was not new at that time, as Rachmaninov's beautiful Vocalise had already been composed. But....adding a full orchestra to the mix was a gamble that paid off, as this is one of Gliere's finest works. The Concerto consists oftwo movements -- Andante and Allegro and is about 14 minutes in length. The first movement's rich melodies are full of lush harmonic textures and the work drives from climax to climax. The finale Allegro is lighthearted and bounces along merrily to the end. Gordon Cherry's arrangement for alto trombone with piano accompaniment reduction brings a major new work to the repertoire. This work can also be performed on the tenor trombone, however, the style of the work makes it perfect for alto. Appropriate for advanced performers. -the publisher

    • Category: Alto Trombone Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 127132
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $37.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)