Pergolesi, Giovanni Battista (Sauer) Sinfonia

Trombone Solos w/Piano

  • Pergolesi, Giovanni Battista (Sauer)

    Sinfonia (Sauer)

    Baroque. Cherry Classics edition. Solo part in tenor clef. Originally written for cello, Ralph Sauer's arrangement of this work has become a standard in the solo repertoire. This new edition of about 8-minutes in length comes with some notable changes. -the publisher/cdp

    "This new edition of the Pergolesi Sinfonia in F is an update of the original version which was first published 40 years ago (!) and is now permanently out of print. Movements one, two, and three are essentially the same. I have corrected a few errors inthe keyboard part and also revised some of the notation_notably, grace notes are now placed correctly. (The original publisher insisted that they should be placed after barlines, causing confusion as to whether they were to be played on the beat or before the beat.)

    In the last movement, there are now two places where the keyboard takes over the solo line. In addition to providing much needed rest for the trombonist, it gives a change of color and a chance for the keyboard player to be the "soloist" for a few measures.

    The original version of the last movement is also included as an appendix for those who would rather perform the original. -Ralph Sauer

    Recorded by:
    Θ - Bob Gillespie, on Spheres - CD 54870

    • Category: Trombone Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 114503
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $31.45

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)