Beckel, James Concerto

Trombone Solos w/Piano

  • Beckel, James


    21st Century (2013). An original work in three movements, jointly commissioned by ten bands and premiered in October of that same year by the composer on trombone. The orchestral version was premiered by New York Philharmonic principal trombonist Joseph Alessi and the Gulf Coast Symphony in April, 2014. The band version was premiered later in the same month by Bill Mathis with the Detroit City Civic Winds.

    "Not only is this piece fun to play, it exploits the beautiful legato singing style that all trombonists crave. The piece is a crowd pleaser and the melodies are memorable. I highly recommend this wonderful concerto to all trombonists!" -Joe Alessi (Principal Trombone, New York Philharmonic)

    "James Beckel's new trombone concerto is a major work of symphonic dimensions and depth, and showcases the solo trombone very effectively." -Carl Lenthe (Professor of Trombone at Indiana State University)

    "Beckel's Concerto is a beautiful, expansive, and dramatic work. The music lies so well on the horn, it is obvious that this is a piece written for trombonists by a trombonist. It is a challenging work, to be sure, but quite accessible for advanced college students and professional trombonists." -Bill Mathis (Professor of Trombone at Bowling Green State University)

    (solo sample pages)

    • Category: Trombone Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 105652
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $16.95

    • (usually ships in 6 to 9 days)