Stevens, John Sonata (2002)

Trombone Solos w/Piano

  • Stevens, John

    Sonata (2002)

    The Sonata for Trombone and Piano was composed in the summer of 2002, with funding support from the University of Wisconsin-Madison It was written for Mark Fisher, who is a trombonist in the Chicago Lyric and Santa Fe Operas as well as being an active soloist on both trombone and euphoniumkThe work was premiered by Mr Fisher in March, 2003, in a guest recital on the University of Wisconsin-Madison campuskThe three-movement sonata is intended to showcase the various outstanding characteristics of the trombone in a solo setting, most especially the power, lyricism and technical capabilities of the instrument Although the piece was primarily conceived for trombone, the composer wholeheartedly encourages performances on euphonium as well.

    Recorded by:
    Θ - Andy Malloy, on Best of Friends - CD 58545

    • Category: Trombone Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 054630
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $24.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)