Ravel, Maurice (De Meij) Pavane pour une Infante Defunte

Trombone Solos w/Concert Band/Wind Ensemble

  • Ravel, Maurice (De Meij)

    Pavane pour une Infante Defunte (De Meij) [solo trombone feature]

    Pavane pour une Infante D‚funte (Pavane for a Dead Princess) was originally written for solo piano by the French composer Maurice Ravel in 1899 when he was studying composition at the Paris Conservatoire under Gabriel Faur‚. Ravel also published an orchestrated version of the Pavane in 1910; it is scored for two flutes, oboe, two clarinets (in B-flat), two bassoons, two horns, harp, and strings. Ravel described the piece as "an evocation of a pavane that a little princess [infanta] might, in formertimes, have danced at the Spanish court". The pavane was a slow processional dance that enjoyed great popularity in the courts of Europe during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Ravel dedicated the Pavane to his patron, the Princesse de Polignac. The work soon became very popular, although Ravel came to think of it as "poor in form" and unduly influenced by the music of Chabrier. When asked how he arrived at the title, Ravel smiled coyly and replied, "Do not be surprised, that title has nothing to do with the composition. I simply liked the sound of those words and I put them there, c`est tout". This version for solo trombone and wind orchestra was written for and dedicated to Joseph Alessi, principal trombone of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra and international renowned soloist.

    (YouTube. Opens new window)

    • Category: Trombone Solos w/Concert Band/Wind Ensemble
    • Item: 109930
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $95.00

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)