Copland, Aaron Ceremonial Fanfare

11-Part Brass Choirs (Undectet)

  • Copland, Aaron

    Ceremonial Fanfare [343.01]

    20th Century (1969). Copland's "other fanfare," the Ceremonial Fanfare was written in 1969 as a commission by the New York Metroplitan Music of Art in commemoration of its Centennial year. The work is for brass only (no percussion), and starts with solo trumpet followed by solo trombone. The entire horn choir then joins along with the rest of the ensemble. The fanfare eventually subsides, reaching a more flowing B section before returning at full power where it stays until the end, where it exits at a quiet piano dynamic. This is Copland all the way, with a slightly more angular sound and tighter chords than his classic Fanfare for the Common Man, yet just as big, broad and powerful. Score & parts. -cdp

    (score sample pages)

    • Category: 11-Part Brass Choirs (Undectet)
    • Item: 132135
    • Grade/Level: Grade 5 - Early Advanced
    • Price: $42.99

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)