Stevens, John Sonata (2008)

Horn Solos w/Piano

  • Stevens, John

    Sonata (2008)

    21st Century (2008). This Sonata for horn and piano was composed in the summer of 2008 with support from a grant from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Graduate School. It was premiered in 2009 by American horn soloist and pedagogue Gail Williams, who is also a former member of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.
    "The work is in three movements but the lengthy slow section that opens the first movement, eventually giving way to an Allegro, results in a structure that hints at the four-movement baroque sonata format. As with all of my brass sonatas and concertos, an effort has been made to showcase both the technical capabilities of the horn as well as its glorious, lyrical sound. This work is dedicated to Jerry Peel, a fantastic hornist and great friend, but is also composed with thanks to all of the wonderful hornists who have inspired me throughout my career." -the composer

    (2.9M, PDF)

    • Category: Horn Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 080607
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $34.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)