Joseph, Thomas Suite

Brass Quintets

  • Joseph, Thomas

    Suite [211.01]

    21st Century (2010). Suite for Brass Quintet by American composer Thomas Joseph is a three movement work loosely inspired by both Holst's First Suite for Military Band and Robert Jager's Third Suite. The first movement, “Alla Marcia” is a bombastic marchwith a folk-like vibe. Boisterous gestures are juxtaposed with moments of agility. Even the tuba is featured in the fray. The “Adagio” introduces an expressive theme emanating from the tuba. This theme becomes the cohesive framework of the movement and is passed around nearly throughout. The atmosphere around it changes drastically as the opening moves from a sweet cantabile to bright, frenzied and celebratory. Lastly, the movement retreats to a reverent quality. The finale “Allegro con Spirito” is quite frivolous being comprised mostly of humorous gestures and rhythmic focus. This 7-minute work is appropriate for advanced performers. -the publisher

    (score sample pages)

    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 102445
    • Grade/Level: Grade 5 - Early Advanced
    • Price: $25.00

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)