Raum, Elizabeth Quintet for Brass

Brass Quintets

  • Raum, Elizabeth

    Quintet for Brass [211.01]

    20th Century. Elizabeth Raum's Quintet for Brass was written in 1980 and just now being published for the first time. The work is in four movements: 1. Prelude, 2. Scherzo and Blues, 3. Passacaglia and Fugue and 4. Rondo. It is written for traditional 211.01 brass quintet for advanced performers and is about 15 minutes in length.

    The music is expressive and tonal. Below is a brief description of the work by the composer:

    "This piece is very much based on various musical forms. The Prelude has opened many a musical work from Baroque to the present. Then follows Scherzo and Blues, a light hearted bonbon moving into a lazy blues. Next is pure Baroque starting with a Passacaglia followed by a Fugue based on the Passacaglia progression. And finally finishing up with the Rondo, in a major key, light-hearted, canonic in places, with a feeling of the evolution of musical form.

    #female composer

    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 133978
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $50.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)