Elgar, Edward (LaFratta) Severn Suite, op 87

Brass Quintets

  • Elgar, Edward (LaFratta)

    Severn Suite, op 87 (LaFratta) [211.01]

    The Severn Suite (Op.87) was composed by Elgar when he was 73 as a test piece for the 1930 British National Brass Band Championships. Elgar dedicated it to his friend, the author, and critic George Bernard Shaw. Some critics consider the Severn Suite to be Elgar's best work in his later years, arguing that is a neglected masterpiece. The work is very "Elgarian" in the high Romantic style. It is fine music originally composed for brass by a famous acknowledged master that will be enjoyable for players and audiences alike. The River Severn runs through the center of Worcester, England where Elgar spent his childhood and again lived in later life.

    The duration of the full piece is around 16:30 and includes five movements, that follow each other without breaks:
    1. Introduction (Worcester Castle) - Pomposo (2:10)
    2. Toccata (the Tournament Grounds) - Allegro molto (4:20)
    3. Fugue (The Cathedral) - Andante (3:00)
    4. Minuet (in the Commandery) (5:00) - Moderato, and
    5. Coda - Lento - Pomposo (2:00).

    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 133894
    • Grade/Level: Grade 5 - Early Advanced
    • Price: $42.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)