Clarke, Herbert L. (Bergler) Southern Cross, The

Brass Quintets

  • Clarke, Herbert L. (Bergler)

    Southern Cross, The (Bergler) [211.01]

    20th Century (1911). For standard 211.01 brass quintet (2 trumpets, 1 horn, 1 trombone, 0 euphoniums, 1 tuba). Cornet solos are an important part of the American Brass tradition. The Southern Cross is one of Clarke's most well known cornet solos and was written in 1911, dedicated "to the Australians" and first recorded by the composer with orchestra the next year for Victor Records. During 1911, Clarke was the solo cornetist of the Sousa Band while the band was on a world tour that included visits to South Africa, Tazmania and Australia. Clarke assuredly composed this solo to perform on that tour. The title Southern Cross refers to a constellation that is only visible from the southern hemisphere. The five stars of "Cross" are depicted today on the Australian flag. This 5-minute virtuosic arrangement by Geoffrey Bergler is not a cornet solo with brass. Rather it features all members of the brass quintet. Instrumentation is 2 Bb trumpets (trumpet 2 doubles on piccolo), horn, trombone, tuba/bass trombone. -the publisher/cdp

    (score sample pages)

    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 109694
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $21.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)