Cherubini, Luigi (Stanton) Sonata No 2

Brass Quintets

  • Cherubini, Luigi (Stanton)

    Sonata No 2 (Stanton) [solo horn & 201.01 brass]

    Romantic. For solo horn and brass quartet (5 players total: solo horn, 2 trumpets, trombone, tuba). Sonata No 2, a mainstay of the horn repertoire by Italian born French composer Luigi Cherubini, is revisited here by former pedagogue Harry Stanton. With this transcription the original horn part is kept while modifying the string parts for the brass quintet, in order to preserve the inherent excitement of the original. The Second Sonata is a fun filled movement that is highlighted by several flashy cadenzas and a "pyrotechnic" ending. Optional flugelhorns in place of trumpets. Score & parts. - the publisher/cdp

    (score sample pages)

    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 040739
    • Grade/Level: Grade 6 - Advanced
    • Price: $15.50

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)