Gabrieli, Giovanni (Drei) Canzona Septimi Toni No 1 (1597), Ch.171

Brass Octets

  • Gabrieli, Giovanni (Drei)

    Canzona Septimi Toni No 1 (1597), Ch.171 (Drei) [412.01 or 413.00]

    Renaissance.Giovanni Gabrieli's Canzon per sonar septimi toni … 8 (Ch. 171) is an instrumental work in 8 parts (2 choirs antiphonal) composed in 1597 as part of a collection of 45 motets titled Sacrae Symphoniae. These works were performed in St. Marks Basilica after Gabrieli returned to Venice to become the principal organist there and propelled him to become recognized as one of Europe's leading composers.

    The instrumental works of the Sacrae Symphoniae have been cherished by brass performers for many years now. This new arrangement by Damiano Drei has been carefully edited for modern instruments with minimal changes and includes substitute parts to allow the performance of this glorious work by 8 or more advanced performers.

    Instrumentation is for: 4 trumpets in B-flat, horn in F, 2 trombones and tuba. (Alternate parts are written for horns in F and trombone). - the publisher

    • Category: Brass Octets
    • Item: 134100
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $31.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)